Belmont and the Beeb

Discussion of television and radio technology - professional and domestic.
Paul Hayes
625 lines

Belmont and the Beeb

Post by Paul Hayes »

Hello all.

As some of you may know, I work as a producer at BBC Radio Norfolk, where every now and again we'll get a comment from a listener reminding us not to talk about or trail ahead to BBC East regional television programmes as if everyone in the county can see them, because in the north-west part of Norfolk, they generally can't. Just as Anglia lost that part of the county to Yorkshire, so viewers in King's Lynn, Hunstanton and so forth generally get Look North from Hull, rather than Look East from Norwich.

My question is... why? I know roughly the reasons why the IBA re-allocated Belmont to Yorkshire from Anglia in 1974, but was there any particular reason why the BBC had to follow suit...? And did they change at the same time, or did BBC East used to be accessible to those on the Wash coast for longer?

fatcat
D-MAC

Re: Belmont and the Beeb

Post by fatcat »

Wasn't it just do to the fact that Yorkshire TV had arrived and was now wetting the lampposts ..so to speak?
Before this time viewers in Yorkshire were dominated by Norwich in the south and the satellites of Birmingham .
The style of Agricultural Television (Anglia TV) probably had little in common with proud Yorkshire men (who have to put 'Yorkshire' on anything they do or make)
Presumably the BBC had to follow suit otherwise viewers would have had to have two aerials ? BBC East was also quite primitive at the time, in fact of a bit of an embarrassment, still transmitting in B/W with rolling picture cuts to the network and saving costs by not making positives (or using reversal film) of their news films and transmitting direct from negative, hence any dirt accumulated by an editor in a hurry looked like a snow storm.